RecruitMilitary Logo
Sign In

City of Killeen

Who We Are

With the adoption of the City Charter in 1949, the council-manager form of government under which the City of Killeen currently operates was established. The mayor is the City’s chief elected officer, but has no administrative power. The mayor presides over the City’s seven member City Council, which sets all policy. The operations of the City are overseen by a city manager appointed by the council. The citizens elect a mayor and three council members at large. The other four council members represent specific districts of the City and are elected by voters living in their districts. Terms for the mayor and all council members are two years, with a three-consecutive-term limitation for each office. The City holds nonpartisan elections each May. The mayor and the at-large council members are elected in even-numbered years, and the four district council members are elected in odd-numbered years.